Illyrian Polish – Bioluminescent swatches and review

Hi all!

This is an indie brand debut for my blog: I’m going to show you the first polish I bought from Illyrian Polish, a small but successful indie brand from Houston, Texas owned by Vanessa. Actually, I had planned to tell you a little more about the brand, but none of my attempts to contact Vanessa and ask her some questions were successful. šŸ˜¦

Illyrian Polish is making gorgeous unique shimmer nail polishes, which is why I fell in love with this brand. So far I have tried 3 Illyrian Polishes: Bioluminescent, You Know Nothing, Jon Snow and Gold Lion.

Bioluminescent from the Eerie Woodlands Collection is a light purple jelly base with a strong blue shimmer. It is quite sheer (jelly!) so 3-4 coats is necesarry, if you wish to wear this on its own. The application is also tricky, the consistency of the polish is pretty thick and goopy, and dragging is a big problem which is why a lot of patience is required if you want a nice looking manicure with this. Bioluminescent dries semi-matte, so I added a layer of HK girl top coat for the pictures below. The wear was not great, I had major chipping after a day. So for me personally, even though this is a beautiful and vibrant polish, I had to go through a lot of hassle to achieve a nice looking manicure. If I wear this again I will definitely layer it over a base colour.

Illyrian Polish - Bioluminescent // headtofoot.wordpress.com Illyrian Polish - Bioluminescent // headtofoot.wordpress.com Illyrian Polish - Bioluminescent // headtofoot.wordpress.com Illyrian Polish - Bioluminescent // headtofoot.wordpress.com

In Germany, you can buy Illyrain Polish from Harlow & Co and Color4nails. I bought mine at Color4nails when they had a restock. Illyrian’s own shop does not ship internationally.

Thanks for stopping by and happy Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Illyrian Polish – Bioluminescent swatches and review

  1. Pingback: Illyrian Polish – Gold Lion | From head to foot

Looking forward to your comments! Feel free to write in English or German :)

