Catherine Favorites by Myriam von M. – swatches and review

PR-Samples

Hi beauties!

As promised, in this blog posting I will show you swatches of 6 out of 10 shades from the new Catherine Favorites by Myriam von M. collection. The missing 4 colours are on their way to me and I promise to show them to you asap!

The collection contains 10 colours in total, and they are Myriam’s favorite colours from existing and prototype colours of the Catherine range, so some of the colours were actually still under development when she chose for them to be included in her favorites!

The following colours will be included in the Favorites collection:

  • 205 “emerald” (existing colour from Catherine standard range): a petrol creme shade, Myriam’s favorite from the collection as it is also the colour of the bow of cervical cancer (blue-green)
  • 217 “spell” (existing colour from Catherine standard range): a beautiful vibrant purple creme
  • 242 “backstage”(new colour from prototypes): neon green creme
  • 243 “soundcheck” (new colour from prototypes): bright neon yellow creme
  • 244 “spot on” (new colour from prototypes): neon orange creme
  • 245 “live act” (new colour from prototypes): neon pink creme
  • 542 “lollypop” (existing colour from Catherine standard range): a delicate lilac creme
  • 548 “catherine” (existing colour from Catherine standard range): the classic red creme
  • 701 “devotion” (existing colour from Catherine standard range): a black, white and beige glitter topper
  • 705 “on stage” (new colour from prototypes): dark blue glitter topper

Catherine Favorites by Myriam von M.
(Above) Left to right: 217, 245, 705, 205, 242 (Set Classic Lac Selection 1)

Catherine Favorites by Myriam von M.
(Above) Left to right: 542, 701, 243, 548, 244 (Set Classic Lac Selection 2)

Let’s start with Myriam’s favorite of her favorites🙂 205 emerald. It is a beautiful green-blue, I would say dark-jade or greenish-petrol creme shade. It is also the colour of the bow of cervical cancer, which is why Myriam chose it to be part of her collection. It  reminds me a little of OPI Jade is the new black but unfortunately I don’t have it for comparison. I can easily say that this is also MY favorite of this collection, the application and consistency of emerald are a dream, I needed two easy coats for an opaque look. It dried fast and shiny, but I added some Seche Vite for sealing and ultimate shine. The wear was good, 3 days before I took it off, and no staining. This one is an existing colour from the Catherine standard range.

Catherine 205 emerald Catherine 205 emerald Catherine 205 emerald

Next is one coat of 701 devotion on top of 205 emerald, a cute glitter topper with white, black, and peach hex glitter (all the same size).  For my taste, they could have added more peach glitter, as this is the most interesting colour of the three. This topper was also not so easy to apply evenly, I used a toothpick to place some of the glitters. I’m more the fan of glitter toppers that contain vaious glitter sizes including small ones to fill the gaps. But scroll down for another design for which this topper is excellent! This one is an existing colour from the Catherine standard range.

Catherine 205 emerald + 701

Next is 542 Lollypop, a delicate lilac-rose creme shade. The application of this was a littly tricky, I needed 3 coats because of dragging and I also had some trouble with bubbles, but I was able to fix that with top coat. The wear was good again, 3 days before I had to take it off. I liked wearing it! This one is an existing colour from the Catherine standard range.

Catherine 542 Lollypop Catherine 542 Lollypop

Next is one coat of 705 on top of 542 Lollypop. It is a cute mid-blue glitter topper with smaller and larger hex glitters. Application of this was easy, I had the whole nail covered in glitter easily with one coat, no dabbing required. This one is a new colour that was only a prototype and never available in the Catherine shop before.

Catherine 542 Lollypop + 705 Catherine 542 Lollypop + 705

Next is 217 Spell, a beautiful vibrant purple creme shade, right up my alley! Next to 205 emerald, this one is my second favorite of the collection! It also only needed two easy coats for full opacity and dried quickly and shiny. The pictures below show two coats with top coat. The wear was also good, 3 days without chipping or tip wear! This one is an existing colour from the Catherine standard range. Sorry for my weird skintone, but I had to set up my camera to pick up the purple colour right, and somehow it made my skin look weird!

Catherine 217 Spell Catherine 217 Spell

Bonus picture with some glitters from the 701 devotion glitter top coat! I achieved this look simply by picking out glitters with a toothpic and placing them on the nail. Then I added top coat again for a smooth surface! I really enjoyed this design and wore it in real life for a while🙂

Catherine 217 Spell

The last colour for today is 244, a true neon orange creme shade. All neon colours from this collection are new colours that were only a prototype and never available in the Catherine shop before. In case you were wondering how the neons compare to those of the Natascha Ochsenknecht Collection: They are different! As soon as the other neons arrive, I will show you comparisons and side-by-side swatches of the green and pink neons, but they are already different in the bottles, so no dupes here! Today I can already show you a comparison of the 244 neon orange of Myriam’s collection and the 251 neon from Natascha’s collection. On my pinky and middle finger is 244 (Myriam) and on my ring and index finger is 251 (Natascha). As you can see, 244 (Myriam) is a true, almost glowing, orange, while 251 (Natascha) is a more red-toned, darker neon. Also, while 244 (Myriam) dries semi-matte, 251 (Natascha) dries shiny. Both need unbelievable 4 coats to be opaque, and some nail white is still visible in certain lighting. I recommend using a white base coat so you need less coats of the neons. I like them both, but I have seen neons that require less coats to be opaque. I added top coat to all nails for the pictures below. Sorry for the bad light in the next pictures, autumn is coming so no more sun, and my daylight lamp needs a new lightbulb first😦

Comparison Catherine 251 244 Comparison Catherine 251 244

Overall there are some highlights in this collection, like the jade colour 205 Emerald, the purple 217 Spell or the blue glitter topper 705. If I had to choose one of the two sets, I’d definitely go for Set 1, as all my Favorites are in that one. The formula of the neons (I tried them all on the blogger event already) is not the best I have experienced, but certainly okay with a white base coat. I would have loved to see some shimmers or iridiscent colours in this collection, but I also think that the selection that Myriam chose suits her style very well. The sets will be available soon in the Catherine online shop. I’m not sure whether you will be able to buy single bottles as well.

Stay tuned for the 4 missing colours, 3 of which are neon (yellow, green and pink) and one is the classic red from Catherine that some of you might already know anyways.
Also, make sure to check back soon for my giveaway of one Catherine Goodie bag🙂

Thanks for stopping by, happy Sunday, and to those of you who will attend the Catherine blogger event at Beauty Forum Munich tomorrow: have fun!!

3 thoughts on “Catherine Favorites by Myriam von M. – swatches and review

Looking forward to your comments! Feel free to write in English or German :)

