Another first: Gradient experiment

Hey beauties,

today I would like to show you my first attempt on gradient nails, which didn’t turn out great but also not really bad. So maybe a few of you can learn from my mistakes!

There are actually three different techniques that I am aware of to achieve a gradient look on your nails. Probably the most famous one and the one I came across first is the sponging technique. Here you paint the colours of choice on a make-up sponge and gently pat it on your nails a few times, until you are satisfied with the look.

The second technique is the fan brush technique where you use a broad thin brush that looks like a fan to apply the colours of your choice to your nails. The third technique I am aware of is the eyeshadow-applicator technique.

For my first attempt I used the sponging technique on one finger (see picture below, on the left), and then decided to try the fan brush technique on my other fingers (picture below on the right). I will definitely try the eyeshadow-applicator technique next time, the only reason I didn’t try it yet is because I simply didn’t have a clean cheap applicator that I could use (you can usually only use them once for this nail art).

Gradient nail art Sponging vs. Fan Brush

All techniques have their pros and cons and I suggest you try them out and see for yourself. To get an idea about the three techniques I mentioned above, this video tutorial helped me a lot.

For my gradient look I used three different nail polishes. The lightest one is a pale purple called Cloud No. 9 by p2 (I’m holding the bottle on the pictures below). The other two colours are a hot pink and a dark purple, both no names from Color Club.
Now let me show you my humble results – on my ringfinger I tried sponging, all the other fingers received the fan brush treatment 😉

Gradient nail art

Gradient nail art

Gradient nail art Gradient nail art

As for the outcome, I there is definitely room for improvement for both techniques. Using the sponging technique I felt like I received a more even gradient effect, but I had a hard time placing the colours where I wanted them, always ending up with too much light colour on the tips or too much dark purple up on my nail. I think I have to wait longer between the different sponging layers and I have to make sure that one layer is dry before adding another one and then accidentally picking up the colour of the other layer.

As for the fan brush technique, I feel that the brush strokes are too visible. I kind of like the effect but it was not what I wanted to achieve. I also had a hard time reaching the cuticle corners/edges with the brush, so I definitely have to practice that.

And now, as a bonus, some beautiful flowers from the botanical garden in Cologne, next to which my gradient nails look much better (maybe also because they are not macro shots from my nails so you can’t see all the imperfect details):

Gradient nail art

Thanks for stopping by! I would love to hear your tips and tricks about gradient nails 🙂

7 thoughts on “Another first: Gradient experiment

  1. Hi,
    ich glaube ich persönlich bevorzuge lieber die Schwamm Methode. Ich glaube damit kann man einfach bessere Übergänge zaubern 🙂
    Schönen Blog hast du 🙂
    LG
    Herby von den Reviernägeln

    Like

Looking forward to your comments! Feel free to write in English or German :)

